Downy Woodpecker Roosting Spot Discovered!

Safe for the night

Safe for the night

It was nearly dusk as I entered the garden to dig up some parsnips for dinner.  I could hear the birds making soft calls to each other as they settled down to roost for the night.   As I dug, a soft woosh went by my head and I looked up to see a downy woodpecker dive into the nestbox I have on one of the garden posts.  The wrens use this box all summer, raising their young and helping me out with garden pest control by eating lots of insects.  They migrated months ago and I removed the metal guard from the hole so larger birds could use it for winter cover.  I never knew if anyone did use it but suspected they did as I would occasionally find a feather inside.  Here now was proof!

Leave a Reply

