Asparagus: Sometimes Simple is Best

Sometimes it is best to set aside complex recipes and let a vegetable be the shining star.  Even browned butter might distract you from the taste of the fresh asparagus.  This fact comes through to me when garden favorites are at their peak of perfection, no embellishment needed.  With our recent rains, my asparagus is lush and succulent so I prepared it in the simplest way possible.  If you have it in the garden, pick it just before you plan to cook it.  This rare treat is not available to everyone, so if you buy it, cut off the ends and stand it in water to freshen it for at least an hour before cooking.  I cooked it simply by boiling it in salted water.  I cut it crosswise in one inch pieces (diagonal is pretty but I didn’t bother) and set a pan of salted water to boil.  When it boiled, I put the asparagus in starting with the ends and thicker stalk pieces first.  When the water returned to a boil, I put in the rest of the stem pieces, and when the water returned to a boil again, the tender tips.  I let it boil gently for 2 minutes then drained it into a colander.  I melted a tablespoon of butter in the hot pan (this is for the two of us, use more for more people) and tossed the asparagus in the butter.  A bit of salt and Yum!

Bright green, glistening and delicious

Bright green, glistening and delicious

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Carla said,

    Yum!!!!! That looks delicious!

    Like


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

