GARDEN UPDATE

My Second Sowing of Lettuce is Nearly Ready

My Second Sowing of Lettuce is Nearly Ready

Spring is well along now and most everything is planted.  I’m going to delay putting in my eggplants in an attempt to lessen damage from flea beetles and I plan to uproot all the volunteer potatoes and trench them where they can grow out of the way of all the vegetables they are now crowding.

The Sugar Snap Peas are Flowering

The Sugar Snap Peas are Flowering

The sugar snap peas are flowering and it will be about a week before we have our first stir-fry of the season.  My second sowing of lettuce is nearly ready.  This time I planted a speckled Romaine type called Flashy Troutback, a red-tinged loose head type called Merveille de Quatre Saisons and a green Romaine type called Little Gem.  I will begin to harvest the heads of my first sowing.  Up until now I have only taken the outside leaves and left the heads in the ground where they keep producing more leaves.  The onion plants are standing upright and the broccoli have tripled in size since they were transplanted.

The Onion Plants are Upright

The Onion Plants are Upright

The Broccoli Plants Have Tripled in Size

The Broccoli Plants Have Tripled in Size

The parsnip seeds have germinated.  This is something I await anxiously as they take a long time (up to three weeks) and need to be kept moist until they sprout so sprouting is far from a sure thing.  I’ve decided to treat myself to some new tomato cages.  I’ve used the old ones for 35 years and they are no longer serviceable.   I almost put my eye out yesterday with one of the broken pieces of wire.  Even this frugal Yankee can’t have that.

Danger Lurks in the Tomato cages.  I almost put my eye out on the rusty wires.

Danger Lurks in the Tomato cages. I almost put my eye out on the rusty wires.

The Parsnips have Germinated

The Parsnips have Germinated

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Linda said,

    Glad you are getting new cages, those are collector’s items!

    Like

  2. 3

    Carla said,

    Flea Beetles were a NIGHTMARE this spring. Well, mainly because I’ve never had them before! But they wreaked havoc on all of my Salvias. They’re gone now finally and my plants are recovering. Good luck with yours, Kathy.
    Carla

    Like


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

