Update on Zucchini and Eggplant Protection with Row Covers

Eggplants, a little pale but undamaged by flea beetles

Eggplants, a little pale but undamaged by flea beetles

This is a follow-up to my post on June 3rd describing my attempts to deafeat flea beetles and squash vine borers (access the first post through the archive for June).   I’ve removed the row covers on the eggplants and zucchini and am generally pleased with the results.  There are no signs of flea beetle damage on the eggplants.  Although someone munched a little, the damage is minor and they look healthy.  I gave them a side dressing of composted cow manure and mulched them with salt hay.  We’ll see if the flea beetles are still active.  The zucchini look a little weak but they should harden up in a day or two.  The only damage is that a few leaf stems were bent pushing up against the row cover.   I was amazed to see a squash vine borer adult (Sesiid moth-Mellitta cucurbitae) alight on the plant, not five minutes after I removed the row cover.  I killed it at once but this tells me I need to increase the size of the tent next year and leave it on longer, as they are obviously still active in early July.  I have now put aluminum foil around the zucchini plants as suggested in Mary’s comment to the original post.  I will of course will continue with my usual regimen of monitoring the zuchs every day, on the lookout for signs of frass (worm poopie).  If I see any signs, I can finds the worm at night by shining a flash light through the stem, then slit the stem and kill it.

Zucchini, a few broken stems but none the worse for wear

Zucchini, a few broken stems but none the worse for wear

Leave a Reply

