First Tomatoes and Zucchini

IMG_1078

I know, they’re small, but they’re fresh and they’re mine!

Today I harvested my first tomatoes of the season.  It’s a few days later than usual but there are more of them, twelve to be exact.  This marks the beginning of summer for me, regardless of the calendar and is an event I have eagerly awaited since last fall.  I also harvested two zucchini from the dozen or so that have formed on the plants.  There’s no sign of the squash vine borer yet and I keep rubbing the base of each plant every morning to try and remove any eggs.  There aren’t enough tomatoes to try Caprese or some of the other tomato based salads we love so I’ll use them in a simple tossed salad as I still have lettuce and I picked a green bell pepper today as well.  We’re having skirt steak so I’ll slice the zucchini into lengthwise slabs, about 1/2″ thick, brush them with olive oil and grill them with the steaks.  When they’re fork tender I’ll salt and pepper them, smear some garlic scape pesto on them and drizzle a bit of balsamic vinegar over all.  I have broccoli now and I’ll use the pesto on that as well.  I caramelized some onions to accompany the steak and that is the only portion of the meal that took time as it takes about 45 minutes on low flame to turn the onions golden brown without burning them.

Ready to eat

Ready to eat

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    That looks delicious.

    Like


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

