White-tailed Deer Fawns are Everywhere

 

Fawns are very curious.  here they are standing at the edge of my herb garden inspecting some logs.

Fawns are very curious. here they are standing at the edge of my herb garden inspecting some logs.

I went to turn the hose on and startled a fawn from under a bush beside the spigot.  I walked by the Forsythia bush and a fawn lept out and ran away.  I opened the garden gate to go in for my daily hour of weeding and a fawn ran out from under a rhubarb plant, just outside the garden.  Yikes!  They’re everywhere.  Their mothers stash them in what they think is a safe place, coming back every so often to nurse them during the day.   Meanwhile they’re on their own in our yard, free to frolic and watch me weeding.  I was doing just that this morning when I was aware that someone was watching, and looking up, there were the fawns standing outside the fence.  I called to them and they came a little closer but when I opened the gate to get my camera, they fled.  I came back with the camera and managed to get a couple of pictures of those I call my “deerlings.”

Winter view, the whole family in the backyard.

Winter view, the whole family in the backyard.

I love to see the fawns.  I even saw one being born once, right outside the dining room window, but they grow up to be chompers of valuable foundation plantings.  I have called a truce and am replacing all the deer attracting plantings with deer resistant, bird friendly, low maintenance native plants.  Yes, there are a few.  These gems will be subjects of future posts.

Isn't There Some Way to Get Into This Garden???

Isn’t There Some Way to Get Into This Garden???

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    P said,

    Love this one, you really captured so muc, thank you.

    Like

  2. 2

    Scott said,

    Good luck with the “deer-resistant” shrubs. I’ll be curious to see if they live up to their billing!

    Like


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

