Boosting the Flavor of a BLT (Bacon, Lettuce & Tomato Sandwich)

Lettuce Leaf and Fino Verde Basil in my Herb Garden

Lettuce Leaf and Fino Verde Basil in my Herb Garden

I love the idea of a BLT but always find the flavor to be bland.  Another problem with BLTs is that just when the tomatoes reach their peak of succulence my lettuce bolts (goes to seed) in the summer heat.  To combat this problem, I have been using basil in place of lettuce (a BBT, if you will).  Basil is the natural pairing for tomato and we have found that we much prefer it.   All basil is Ocimum basilicum but many cultivars have been developed.  I grow several different ones, some just for the color such as “Purple Ruffles.” I also grow “Fino Verde” for the tiny leaves I like in my Caprese salads (O. basilicum piccolo) and Thai basil (O. basilicum var. thyrsiflorum) for its licorice flavor.  For BBTs, there are a couple of varieties with large leaves; O. basilicum “Lettuce Leaf” and O. basilicum “Mammoth.”  Lettuce Leaf and Mammoth also make fine pesto so I didn’t bother to grow the customary Genovese variety this year.  Next time you want a BLT, try making it a BBT and I bet you will find yourself selecting Mammoth or Lettuce leaf when you order seeds next spring.

A "BBT" using Mammoth Basil and Orange Blossom Tomato

A “BBT” using Mammoth Basil and Orange Blossom Tomato

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Carla said,

    Kathy, only you could make a BLT seem interesting! Don’t get me wrong, I love BLTs (which is weird because I don’t care for either tomatoes or mayo!). Carla

    Like


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

