Tap Your Inner Squirrel (Putting Food By for the Winter)

Peach Chutney

Peach Chutney

Peach Chutney

Now, when tomatoes, squash, cucumbers and such are starting to overwhelm me, I think ahead to frosty winter days when this bounty will be only a memory and I start to fill the freezer and the shelves of the preserve cupboard.  In the past few days I have made a vat (10 quarts) of corn chowder (I’ll add potatoes when I reheat it this winter as they get mealy when frozen), 18 loaves of squash bread,

Refrigerator pickles

Refrigerator pickles

peach chutney and refrigerator pickles.  When I made moussaka for dinner, I made three, one for last night and two for the freezer.  I bake the ones for the freezer in the baking dishes I’ll reheat them in this winter, lining the dish with tin foil so I can remove the moussaka after it’s frozen.  After I have enough squash dishes put by, I will put a basket out by the mailbox with a sign “Free to Good Homes” and the extras get taken by non-gardening neighbors.  When the neighbors stop taking them, there’s always the homeless shelter and the food pantry.

The Moussaka in the middle is for dinner tonight.  The other two will be frozen in the containers they will eventually cook in, after I remove the tin foil.

The Moussaka in the middle is for dinner tonight. The other two will be frozen in the containers they will eventually cook in, after I remove the tin foil.

There’s something deeply satisfying in canning and freezing my produce.  I love to look at the shelves of jams, pickles, canned tomatoes and all the other things I put up.  It gets hot in the kitchen but I will feel well rewarded for my work this winter when we sit down to a lunch of corn chowder and squash bread or when I can pop a ready made casserole into the oven.

Zucchini bread to go with my winter soups, a breath of summer.

Zucchini bread to go with my winter soups, a breath of summer.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Denise Hughes said,

    Wow! You have been really busy, Kathy.

    Like


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

