What’s For Dinner? [Beef Curry]

It looks a little messy but tasts terrific.

It looks a little messy but tastes terrific.

After a week on Grand Manan and a week of seafood, we were ready for steak.  We grilled a London broil and ate half, but what to do with the rest?  I decided to make my version of curry, quick and easy, but I believe  it retains an air of authenticity in part due to my use of coconut milk as the liquid.  First saute onions in oil (the Indians use ghee but I use olive oil) then add minced garlic, the sliced leftover meat (beef, chicken, lamb…) and pieces of apple.

The basic ingredients, beef, apple, onion, garlic and spices.

The basic ingredients, beef, apple, onion, garlic and spices.

When these ingredients have been sautéed for about five minutes, add the curry powder.  I like to use a combination of sweet and hot curry powders from Penzey’s  but any good quality curry powder will do.  Add it to your taste.  I use one teaspoon hot and two teaspoons sweet which gives it a bit of a bite but doesn’t make your eyes water.  The powder is mixed with the sautéed apple, meat, onions and garlic and toasted in the pan for about a minute.  Turn the heat to low and then add a can of coconut milk.  I find it in the International section of the grocery store and buy the “lite” version to avoid extra calories.

The spices have been added and toasted, it's now time for the coconut milk.

The spices have been added and toasted, it’s now time for the coconut milk.

Let this combination simmer while you boil some rice (basmati is traditional) and assemble the side dishes.  I use my homemade peach chutney, toasted coconut flakes, chopped pistachios and papadums which are also found in the International section of the grocery.  These are a type of bread that comes in flat rounds.  You brush them lightly with oil and microwave them for 45 seconds.  The coconut and pistachios can be made up ahead of time and kept in the refrigerator.  I made a version of Caprese salad to go with everything (talk about culture confusion, but I’m an American.  It’s allowed!)  As a final touch, I sprinkle a dusting of cinnamon over the top.

Clockwise, from my plate: papadum, salad, chutney, toasted coconut, chopped pistachios, curry and rice.

Clockwise, from my plate: papadum, salad, chutney, toasted coconut, chopped pistachios, curry and rice.

Leave a Reply

