The Garden is Full of Yellowthroats

These little guys were too quick for my camera skills!

These little guys were too quick for my camera skills!

I know, the photo is terrible.  Sorry about that.  These little guys are very quick and I didn’t want to scare them so I am very circumspect as I watch.  There were about 20 of them, gleaning insects from my vegetables.  These are Common Yellowthroats (Geothlypis trichas) and they are migrating through Connecticut in large numbers right now.  They need their nourishment more than I need to pick a few tomatoes for our salad.  They’re on their way south, as far as Panama, to spend the winter.  The males remind me of little highwaymen with their black masks and I often think, how can such an attactive little warbler be called “common.”

I sit on my bench and watch them working the garden for about 10 minutes, enjoying their acrobatics as they flit around the wire cages I use to prop up the tomato plants.  They move on, little by little, and I am left alone in the garden.  I pick the tomatoes and return to make my salad, enriched.

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Marjorie said,

    Seeing 20 Common Yellowthroats in my garden would be a touch of heaven for me!

    Like

  2. 2

    Carla said,

    I’m happy to see one in my backyard! Glad you were able to enjoy them, Kathy.

    Like

  3. 3

    To the person who wanted to do a painting of A. J. Hand’s picture of a Cerulean Warbler, he has replied to me that it is OK with him.

    Like


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

