Stuffed Peppers for the Freezer

The peppers keep coming so I decided to make some for the freezer, and thereby a quick meal in the future.  I made a stuffing of ground beef, onions, garlic, pepper trimmings, tomatoes and seasonings.

This is the stuffing, ground beef, fresh herbs and seasonings, tomatoes, onions, garlic and pepper trimmings.

This is the stuffing, ground beef, fresh herbs and seasonings, tomatoes, onions, garlic and pepper trimmings.

I don’t put rice or bread crumbs in my stuffed peppers as I serve them on a bed of rice.  When you cut the pepper up, the juices sink into the rice.   This is so simple.  Just core and rinse the peppers (chopping up any useable bits to add to the stuffing) and fit them in a freezer container.

The freezer container contents can be lifted out and put into my little casserole dish and the peppers will defrost in that dish.

The freezer container contents can be lifted out and put into my little casserole dish and the peppers will defrost in that dish.

I use a container that is a similar size to the dish I will use when I cook them this winter.  Add the hot stuffing and microwave until the peppers soften a little (about five minutes for these in my microwave).  Cool and freeze.   When the time comes to use them, defrost thoroughly,  add shredded cheese over the top and reheat in the microwave, then run them under the broiler to brown the cheese.   Cheese seems to lose flavor and texture when frozen so I wait to add it when I’m going to eat the peppers, but you could add it before freezing.  These peppers won’t have that lovely crunch of freshly made stuffed peppers but the availability of a quick, nutritious meal goes a long way to make up for that.

Leave a Reply

