“Threat of Frost” Lasagna

Faced with  the threat of a light frost a few nights ago, I decided to pick all my peppers, beans and eggplants.  The peppers and beans were not a problem; I froze the beans and put some of the peppers in a paper bag to ripen.  The rest went into the refrigerator.  But what to do with all those nubbins of eggplants, the longest of them only four inches?  I decided to try using them in lasagna.

I like the no-boil noodles put out by Barilla, if I can find them.  I chopped the unpeeled eggplant into one inch cubes and sautéed them in olive oil for a filling.  To complete the filling, I added some Swiss Chard (even though it would take a light frost) some of my purple onions, garlic, red pepper flakes, a chopped up slice of ham and sautéed the mixture until it was browned.  I made a Bechamel sauce (two Tbsp. butter, same of flour and 1.5 cups of milk) and added grated parmesan when it was cooked.  I mixed a little in the filling and set aside the rest.  I like a cheese layer as well as a filling layer, so I mixed a cup of ricotta with grated parmesan, grated mozzarella, salt, pepper and an egg.  To assemble, layer as follows:  smear a little bechamel on the bottom, cover with lasagna noodles, cheese layer, noodle layer, filling layer, noodle layer, Bechamel.  Top it off with mozzarella.  Bake at 350º until the top is bubbly and golden.  Leave out the ham for a vegetarian version.

A tossed salad with this really tasty lasagna is all that was needed.

A tossed salad with this really tasty lasagna is all that was needed.

1 Response so far »


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

