Hurricane Sandy Preparations

Here’s Jennie, all filled up and ready to go. Isn’t she beautiful?

Well, I have no idea what things will be like in a few days around here.  This is a shoreline community slated to receive the upper right-hand quadrant of the storm, which could be severe.  Shelters are set up and the beach has been evacuated.  We’re on a hill so no need to fear the 11 foot storm surge they are projecting, but I have taken some precautions.  I’ve filled my car, filled the generator and the gas can with extra gas for it.  Checked the oil lamps, flashlights and our wind-up radio.  I’ve charged up all the rechargeable things we deal with these days.  I’ll do a load of laundry and run the dishwasher tonight.  All the items outside that could become projectiles have been secured.  The bird feeders are filled (and extraordinarily busy!)  We have a gas stove that works without electricity but the oven won’t work, so I’ve made an apple pie and a pot of beans.  I have hot dogs and hamburgers for the barbeque grill.  I’ve also made a batch of sourdough English muffins and some chocolate chip cookies.  I took some easy meals from the big freezer downstairs and put them in the little freezer in the refrigerator to avoid opening the big freezer.  I’ve filled containers with water and frozen them, just in case we have an interruption in our water service.  I’ve turned down the temps on both freezers.  I’ve taken books out of the library.  I’ve invited friends who are possibly in harm’s way to come here, if they have trouble.

What have I forgotten??

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Tricia Reid said,

    If you’re a coffee drinker, a thermos of coffee (or tea if that’s your poison)?

    Like

    • 2

      Great idea! We drink coffee in the morning but then keep the teapot going for the rest of the day. We can make tea with the gas stove but the microwave won’t be available to heat it up, once it cools down. Thanks, Tricia.

      Like


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

