I’m Back

After eight weeks in the vegetable crisper, the hyacinth bulbs are showing signs of life.

After eight weeks in the vegetable crisper, the hyacinth bulbs are showing signs of life.

My son died on January 18th and now I must get on without him in my life.  I am finding some comfort in the flowers I have forced that are starting to bloom on the windowsill.  The Amaryllis “Lady Jane” is in full bloom, the Hyacinths are sending up their flower stalks and my Phalaenopsis orchids are sending up their flower spikes.  I have posts on how to encourage these little early miracles of spring in previous posts.  It takes some advance preparation, rest periods being important in my experience.  I rest the Amaryllis bulbs for eight weeks after I take them in from their summer in the vegetable garden, then bring them into the light when flower stalks start to poke their noses out of the bulb.

Lady Jane is in full bloom and other Amaryllis are on the way.

Lady Jane is in full bloom and other Amaryllis are on the way.

Hyacinths also need an eight week rest but for them it’s a cooling one, which I do in the refrigerator crisper drawer.  After that eight weeks of “crisping,” I place them in their vases and put them in a cool dark location (even the regular top shelf of the refrigerator, if you don’t have another spot) until they develop a root system.  I’m lucky enough to have a sun porch which is unheated in winter.  I put a cover over them to keep out the light until the roots are formed, then into the sun and let fun begin.

This mini Phalaenoosis is the best effort yet.  I've had it about three years.

This mini Phalaenopsis is putting out its best effort yet. I’ve had it about three years.

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    peg said,

    Thank you for sharing these beauties with us. Lovely, Peg

    Like

  2. 3

    Carla said,

    That orchid is unbelievably beautiful. You sure have the green thumb! Carla

    Like

  3. 5

    jmgoyder said,

    Oh I am so terribly sorry.

    Like


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

