Asparagus: Beginnings and Endings

It’s one of my favorite vegetables with a season that’s all too short.  I always have a dilemma at the beginning and the end of the season; should I save these few spears for a day until I pick some more (losing the fresh from the garden flavor) or can I think of a way to use them right now?  They can always be mixed into a tossed salad but the flavor is diluted with all the other vegetables.  This year I opted to begin the season with a lunch of Asparagus Frittata and to  end the season with a side dish of Asparagus and Sugar Snap Pea Pasta.

Asparagus, Onion and Feta Cheese Frittata

Asparagus, Onion and Feta Cheese Frittata

This so easy, no recipe is required.  The method works for any combination you want to use in your Frittata.  Cut up the vegetables and sauté them in olive oil until just barely tender.  With my asparagus, I just sautéed it until it turned a brighter green although I started the onions first and cooked them through.  Spread the mixture out evenly and spread the cheese over the top.  While the vegetables are cooking, prepare the eggs; two per person and one for the pan, and turn down the heat.  Turn the broiler on to low.  Beat the eggs soundly with a fork and add salt and pepper.  Beat in cold water, about 1 Tbsp. per person ( I just run the bowl under the faucet for a second).  Pour the egg mixture over the vegetables, trying to coat them all.  Poke down any the have no egg, just to give them a little coating, even if they pop up again.  Cook the mixture without stirring just until you see the edges start to solidify, then run the pan under the broiler, keeping careful watch.  It will puff up slightly and brown on top, but still be tender inside.

Pasta with Asparagus and Sugar Snap Peas

Pasta with Asparagus and Sugar Snap Peas

This dish couldn’t be easier.  Boil your pasta of choice until very firm, add the chopped up vegetables and cook until they turn bright green, drain, add  salt and pepper and some butter or olive oil.  Sprinkle with grated parmesan.  Yum!  I’ve occasionally added chopped herbs or pesto (garlic scape pesto works well here) but I like it best with the unenhanced vegetable flavors.  After all this may be the last time I have Asparagus this year…

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Carla said,

    YUM! Both recipes sound (and look) delicious. I like the taste of veggies, too, so the less herbs, spices, etc. the better it would be for me. Now I’m hungry … 🙂
    Carla

    Like


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

