Dancing Ladies Makes an Unusual Centerpiece

Here's Dancing Ladies in her place of honor.

Here’s Dancing Ladies in her place of honor.

Usually I have a traditional centerpiece for my Thanksgiving table, a cone of fruit topped by a pineapple (Colonial symbol for hospitality) to be compatible with our old house, but this year time ran out and I found myself out of time and desperate.  One of my orchids, an oncidium called Dancing Ladies was just coming into bloom and was so pretty I just covered her slat basket with decorative paper, tied a ribbon around her and had the solution to my problems.  Everyone seemed to enjoy the change.

My usual "over the top" traditional centerpiece.

My usual “over the top” traditional centerpiece.

I also tried new pies this year, using the recipes from the food section of the New York Times. (Link is to all the Thanksgiving recipes they had, pies being at the end.) I think the pies looked terrific but I like my old recipes better.  I usually make Apple, Pumpkin (really Butternut Squash) and Mince, but when I brought in my green tomatoes and made green tomato mincemeat, it was so delicious that I made Mince Pie right then and we ate it all ourselves.  The Times recipe had a chocolate/pecan pie which I tried instead of Mince.  Others liked it but I found to be too rich.  The Pumpkin/Squash Pie recipe from the Times tasted almost exactly like my regular one and the Apple was delicious but I missed just the plain apple as it added dried cranberries.

Here are my pies, clockwise from top; Apple, Squash and Pecan.  I had fun with the crust.

Here are my pies, clockwise from top; Apple, Squash and Pecan. I had fun with the crust.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Carla said,

    My Mom makes the best mincemeat pie. I sure do miss it. That’s not something you can buy in the store (at least not down here). Sorry to say, I don’t care for pecan or pumpkin/squash, but your apple pie looks yummy. Now I’m hungry!

    Like


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

