More on Hyacinth Forcing

Once the buds get to this stage, move them to a cool place with indirect light.

Once the buds get to this stage, move them to a cool place with indirect light.

As an addendum to my last post, I want to add these additional hints.  My bulbs were in the bright, sunny windowsill for a week and the buds have risen so they show in the leaf cluster.  If I leave them in the warmth and sunshine, they will get leggy and the weight of the flower will make them flop over.  I now move them to the window in front of the kitchen sink.  There they will be cool as this window gets no direct sunlight and is on the north side of the house.  The bonus is that I can see them close up when I am working at the sink.

Leave a Reply

