Asparagus!

Simple and delicious.

Simple and delicious.

I was planning to make my next post about the birds and flowers we saw in Big Bend, but our asparagus season has been so bountiful, I had to share our favorite preparation with you.   As I’ve said before, it tastes so delicious freshly picked that it’s a shame to dress it up too much and disguise the flavor.  One very easy  method that is simply to pan sear it in garlic and olive oil.  For this, film a large skillet with olive oil and heat over a medium flame until it is hot but not smoking.  Spread the asparagus out in a single layer, hake to cover with oil and sprinkle with a pinch or two of salt and dust with garlic powder (I know, horrors, but it is a time saver and works pretty well in this application).  Let the spears cook undisturbed over med/low heat for about 7 or 8 minutes, then turn them.  Let them brown on the other side until the ends can be easily pierced with a sharp knife, about 15 minutes.  I pick any spear that is thicker than a pencil (so as not to weaken the plant) and this time works well for me, but if you buy thicker or thinner ones, adjust the time.  Don’t let them overcook.  The goal is browned blistery areas here and there.  If you truly are horrified by the use of garlic powder, by all means use chopped garlic, which you would add before the asparagus.  I would brown it slightly then remove it as the long searing required would make it bitter.

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Doreen Sabol said,

    Sounds great…I usually roast mine in the oven with the garlic. This is much better than having to heat up the oven in the summer! Please say Happy Birthday to Dr. V. for me (I know it’s not until Saturday). Love your website.

    Doreen (Sabol) Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

  2. 2

    Carla said,

    Oh my, they look delicious! Asparagus is an adult-acquired taste for me and now I really love to eat them. That photo is making my mouth water. 🙂 Happy Birthday to George. Carla

    Like


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

