Garlic Scape Pesto: “How To” Video

I’ve finally tried it, making a video that is.   Follow this link to view it.  In my maiden voyage I’ve made several “rookie errors,” one of which is forgetting the crucial matter of what kind of cheese to use (Pecorino Romano or Parmesan).  Another thing to remember is that this recipe is flexible, depending on the taste of the cook.  I notice now that I used 1/2 the volume of walnuts in the video, whereas in the link to my earlier post, I used 1/3.  To me this just shows how very flexible it is.  Many who viewed it from my Facebook page asked if I could show it being used, so I thought I’d post it here as well because I have previously done several posts about this terrific vegetable, being used both in its fresh form and as Pesto.  Pasta Primavera , Stir Fry with Chicken and Snow Peas  , and one about Garlic Scape Pesto itself, showing it used with rice and twice baked potatoes.  It’s also great mixed into salad dressing and tossed with pasta.

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Mary said,

    You inspired me! I just picked my garlic scapes and made your pesto recipe after re-watching your video. I had a bag of Pine Nuts in the freezer that really needed to be used and this seemed perfect. I had Pi Bird watching from my shoulder and the top of the refrigerator. I now have 30 mini-muffin-sized portions in the freezer. Yum! Thank you for making this video!!

    Like


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

