Do You Read to Your Children?

Crossing the rope bridge to the tree house at the Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens Children's Garden

Crossing the rope bridge to the tree house at the Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens Children’s Garden

We spent a delightful afternoon with my niece and her two children at the Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens in Boothbay last week.  They have a Children’s Garden, full of family friendly activities that must have been so much fun to design.  One of the spaces is a reading corner and there is a plaque imprinted with the final verse to Strickland Gillilan’s poem “The Reading Mother.”

                                  You may have tangible wealth untold;
                                  Caskets of jewels and coffers of gold.
                                  Richer than I you can never be —
                                  I had a Mother who read to me.

Such truth in that verse!  My Mother read to me, I read to my children and both my son and daughter-in-law read to my grandchildren.  Do you read to the young people in your life?

DSCN0671

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Marjorie said,

    Right before I left the house to go to Book Club today I checked my email and here was your jewel of a poem. I printed it and took it with me to read before our book discussion. Thank you!
    Later I sent club members the entire poem found on the internet.

    Like

  2. 2

    The same poet is also credited with the shortest poem ever written: “Lines on the Antiquity of Microbes:
    Fleas
    Adam
    Had ’em.”
    This was attributed to Ogden Nash but is actually by Strickland Gillilan.
    Glad you enjoyed it. I choked up when I read it.

    Like


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

