Memories of the Berlin Wall

Peter and I, in front of the Brandenburg Gate and the burned out Reichstag building, under restoration. (1964)

I’m with Peter in front of the Brandenburg Gate and the burned out Reichstag building, under restoration. (1964)

On this, the 25th anniversary of its demise, I can’t help thinking back to my time in Berlin.  It was the 60’s and the Wall was under construction.  As you can see from the photo, the part in front of the Brandenburg Gate was still separated by concertinas of barbed wire.  My apartment was in Lichterfelde Ost, a district that bordered the East.  The border and a guard tower were less than a kilometer away and I often heard gunfire in the night when the guards shot at fleeing East Germans.  On the day in the photo, I had taken my son Peter down to the border where there was a lovely garden area.

Now the Wall is gone, Peter is gone, that marriage is gone, but today life begins anew as I plant my garlic, in preparation for another year.

 

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Peg said,

    We are so lucky to be here and to be able to keep going. Thanks for sharing.

    Like


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

