Planting an Orchid Keiki (Baby)

Here's what the flower of the Mother plant looks like.

Here’s what the flower of the Mother plant looks like.

We had a blessed event in our house when one of my orchids formed a Keiki (Hawaiian for “baby”).  I have been watching it develop over the past year and have decided to separate it from its mother and plant it today.  I bought the mother plant at Venamy Orchids about four years ago when my friend Mary took me there for a breath of spring.  It’s a Phaelenopsis named “P. Maysang Angel’s Heart” and is white with pink spots.  I give the steps I took to remove and plant it with the pictures below.  Wish it luck out on its own.

The Keiki is at the center.  It has two healthy-looking roots with lovely active tips.

The Keiki is at the center. It has two healthy-looking roots with lovely active tips.

Using sterilized clippers, I cut the stem the Keiki was on down about an inch.

Using sterilized clippers, I cut the stem the Keiki was on down about an inch.

I wanted to make sure it was well hydrated so I set in in a dish of water for about five minutes (just the roots, not the leaf junctions).

I wanted to make sure it was well hydrated so I set in in a dish of water for about five minutes (just the roots, not the leaf junctions).

And here it is, nestled into an empty space in its mother's slat basket.  I put a support stick in to keep it straight.

And here it is, nestled into an empty space in its mother’s slat basket. I put a support stick in to keep it straight.

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Mary said,

    You are the orchid whisperer!! Flowers and baby!!! Wonderful and Amazing! 🙂

    Like

  2. 3

    Peg said,

    Great information, thanks!

    Like


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

