Making the Most of Your Garden: Spectacular Salade Nicoise

Salade Nicoise with pan seared tuna steaks

Salade Nicoise with pan seared tuna steaks

When the garden is in full production I love to make Salade Nicoise.  Here I’ve showcased green beans, grilled baby squash, cherry tomatoes, baby cucumbers, lettuce, baby beets and squash blossoms stuffed with herbs and chevre.  I have adapted Julia Child’s recipe but this is more a matter of assembly than cooking.  The base is a French style potato salad (boiled in their jackets, peeled and tossed first with minced shallots, white wine, then vinaigrette), then you just arrange everything else.  I make my vinaigrette in a mustard jar that still holds the final bits of mustard the knife can’t coax out.  This gives me a handy jar to shake it in.  The vinaigrette is the remains of the mustard, olive oil, lemon juice, salt, pepper, minced garlic and herbs (I used basil for this one).  I add hard boiled eggs cut in half, drizzled with the vinaigrette and topped with a bit of anchovy.  The green beans are tossed in vinaigrette just before placing them on the lettuce and you drizzle it over everything else.  Top it off with a few black olives (Nicoise, if you can find them), sprinkle capers and parsley over the top, et voila!

The platter I use is a huge antique feather-edged Leeds one that I found at a flea market.  I only use it for this and for New England Boiled Dinner.

9 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    The salad looks so pretty!

    Like

  2. 3

    Denise said,

    Love this! Beautiful AND delicious (except for the olives, of course 🙂

    Like

  3. 4

    Marjorie said,

    Looks delicious and healthy. I’ll be right over. Yum!

    Like

  4. 5

    Denise, I’ll eat your olives. I wish we all were closer. Wouldn’t it be fun for us all to sit down together? Marjorie in NC, you in ID, at least we have the internet!

    Like

  5. 6

    Mary said,

    Gorgeous and delicious!! Can I join the virtual dinner party?

    Like

  6. 8

    Connie Madia said,

    I’m officially hungry!

    Connie Madia

    http://www.FrankMadiaPhotography.com

    Winter and Spring: Kyle, Hays County, TX Summer: Indian Creek Campground, Yellowstone National Park, WY Fall: Mammoth Campground, Yellowstone National Park, WY

    Like

  7. 9

    Sad to say, you are definitely NOT within driving distance!

    Like


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

