My Beautiful Aubergines

Almost too beautiful to eat...

Nearly black and glistening, almost too beautiful to eat…

Sorry!  “Eggplant” simply does not do justice to this lovely vegetable (well, technically a fruit).  I’ve tried a different (to me) method of preparing them for dishes like Aubergines Parmesan and Moussaka.  I trimmed the tops and bottoms, sliced them into lengthwise slices, about 1/3″ thick but instead of frying up the slices, I brushed each side lightly with olive oil and baked them at 400º until browned, turning once.

This was far easier than frying them, uses less oil and took only about 20 minutes.

This was far easier than frying them, uses less oil and took only about 20 minutes.

After they were all browned, I made three Moussakas, one for now and two for later.  I baked two in baking dishes lined with tin foil and froze them.  after they were frozen, I took them out of the baking dishes and stored them in the freezer.  This winter I’ll just take off the tinfoil and put them back into the baking dishes for an easy meal.

Moussaka, ready for the freezer.

Moussaka, ready for the freezer.

Moussaka is a dish I first encountered in Greece many years ago.  It’s a ground meat,tomato and onion filling between precooked Aubergine (eggplant) slices and topped off with a custard of milk eggs and feta cheese, plus seasonings.

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Jessica Katz said,

    I agree, Kathy. “Eggplant” is not elegant enough for such a wonderful veggie.

    Quick question…did you bake the slices initially on that oven rack, or are they just there to cool?

    I have to find a spot for a small freezer chest. I rarely cook anything elaborate just for myself. But, if I knew I could freeze some additional portions, I think I would cook more often.

    I love your blog, Kathy.

    🙂

    Jess

    Like

    • 2

      I spread them out on a cookie sheet and just cooled them on the rack. Another benefit I forgot to mention is that the oven dries them out so they aren’t so watery and they absorb the sauce more easily. Thanks for your kind words on my blog, Jess.

      Like

  2. 3

    Peg said,

    Yummy and love the photo. Thanks!

    Like


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

