Strawberries!!!

IMG_5253

On Friday my husband and I picked 25+ pounds of strawberries at a local farm.  They were daunting when I got them home.  Of course we wanted jam and I like an old recipe from colonial days.  The New England colonists brought with them Sweet Woodruff, an herb native to Europe, where it was a necessary ingredient in their May wine but they also put it in strawberry jam as a flavor enhancer.  I made 12 jars of Strawberry-Sweet Woodruff jam and 14 jars of Strawberry-Pineapple.

IMG_5275

They’re the reddish ones in the middle

The farm gives out free recipe sheets and there was a recipe for a strawberry/pasta/kale salad which intrigued me but when I tried it we found it underwhelming.  I thought it had promise though so I tried it again, making it a whole meal this time using chicken chunks, quinoa, kale, strawberries and roasted sunflower seeds.  We really enjoyed it.  I used a sweet & sour lemony vinaigrette and garnished it with the zest from the lemon.

IMG_5272

And then there were the other uses:

IMG_5261

On cereal

IMG_5254

Strawberries and cream with a sprinkling of sugar

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_5256

Strawberries give me a chance to use my beloved old Royal Doulton berry plate that I found at a flea market with my brother. The bowl is perforated on the bottom so the berries don’t get soggy.

I also made a fresh strawberry pie, too sloppy to show you.  It’s been very rainy here and I should have used more cornstarch as it’s more like a thick sauce and spreads all over the plate (but still tasty).

 

default

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Peg North said,

    Beautiful, thank you for sharing!!!

    Like

  2. 2

    Marjorie said,

    My mouth is watering! Your strawberry creations all looked great but it was nice to know that you made a “sloppy looking” pie and wouldn’t photograph it….many of us make sloppy looking desserts all the time. LOL Even if it were sloppy looking, I’ll bet it was scrumptious. Mouth now drooling.

    Like

  3. 3

    Jessica said,

    Luscious, Kathy.

    I’m really curious about the Sweet Woodruff. What kind of flavor does it have? I know it’s hard to describe flavors. But, it’s such a pretty plant. I’ve considered planting it in the garden. It’d be very interesting to know how to use it in food. Do you use it in other concoctions, as well?

    Like

    • 4

      The flavor is hard to describe but it’s very aromatic, especially when dried, and would be good in potpourris, although I have never done that. I use it fresh, about 1 whorl per jar. The Germans used it to flavor wine and beer. It’s a wonderful ground cover for a shady spot but I think might become invasive in the garden. The flowers are not particularly showy but it has a very attractive habit. A friend gave me six plants a few years back and I now have a carpet of thousands.

      Like


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

