Lettuce in the Snow

IMG_5702

I’ve been nursing these seedlings all winter in the cold frame and at last they are beginning to take off.  I planted them too late last fall to have the winter harvest I had hoped for but soon we’ll have early spring lettuce to enjoy.  I lost two plants over the winter but we’ve had some pretty cold spells, temps in the single digits, so I’m very happy with them.  On those extremely cold nights I put in a gallon jug of hot water and on nights below 20º, I covered the cold frame with a movers quilt.

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Peg North said,

    Wonderful to see this early spring view!!!Thank you

    Like

  2. 3

    harold losey said,

    👍 Looking good!

    On Tue, Mar 12, 2019, 9:15 AM A Naturalist’s Table wrote:

    > naturaliststable posted: ” I’ve been nursing these seedlings all winter in > the cold frame and at last they are beginning to take off. I planted them > too late last fall to have the winter harvest I had hoped for but soon > we’ll have early spring lettuce to enjoy. I lost two plant” >

    Like

  3. 4

    Marjorie said,

    Looks like Nature’s Jewelry Box to me. 🙂
    Great dedication and determination on your part!

    Like


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment