My Ponderosa Lemon Outdoes Itself

IMG_5880

This little tree has given me two lemons this year!  I’ve set a normal sized lemon in the pot so you can appreciate the size of these behemoths. I haven’t quite decided what to do with this bounty.  I could make lemon curd as I did in 2014.  Here’s the link to that post for full directions.  Here’s the link to the lemon cake I made to accompany that lemon curd.  Or I could make lemon marmalade as I describe fully in this post from 2012.  The 2012 post shows my little tree in its youth, just a stick and yet it gave me one big lemon that year.  It has continued to bless me each year and it’s always fun to make something special to celebrate its effort. (I’m leaning toward the marmalade…)

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Peg North said,

    Wow! Impressive. Love the color.

    Like

  2. 2

    Connie Madia said,

    Yikes!!! Those are huge. Are you sure there isn’t a grapefruit in the lineage somewhere???

    Connie Madia

    http://www.FrankMadiaPhotography.com

    Winter and Spring: Kyle, Hays County, TX Summer: Indian Creek Campground, Yellowstone National Park, WY Fall: Mammoth Campground, Yellowstone National Park, WY

    On Sun, Dec 23, 2018 at 11:55 AM A Naturalist’s Table wrote:

    > naturaliststable posted: ” This little tree has given me two lemons this > year! I’ve set a normal sized lemon in the pot so you can appreciate the > size of these behemoths. I haven’t quite decided what to do with this > bounty. I could make lemon curd as I did in 2014. Here’s the ” >

    Like

  3. 3

    So far as I know, Connie, it’s just a subspecies of lemon. It certainly tastes like a lemon.

    Like


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment